iOS Screen Time may cause reassignment of user id and duplicate locks (glitch?)

  • 2 Replies
  • 454 Views
Hi Kevin and all you wonderful people,

what an amazing app and service! It works wonders with a heavily locked down old iPhone 5s. All other apps on this phnone are disabled through the remotely managed parental control option in iOS 12,  "Screen Time". There is an option to block access to the app entirely through the setting "Content & Privacy Restrictions" / "Content Restrictions" / "Apps" / "Don't Allow Apps" of the Screen Time settings. This causes the app icon to vanish from the home screen. I tried this option because non-cumulative locks may occupy the lockee at night when he is supposed to sleep. This, of course, should be avoided.

When I re-enabled the app, a different user id was assigned and the user name was reset to a new "CKU" name. After some fiddling around multiple copies of the running lock appeared on the management console. Among those copies only the "real" one is still manageable. The others are invisible from the lockees side and inaccessible. From the keyholder side the users of the inaccessible locks seem to be inactive. The "new" user cannot choose his old user name because the server thinks it is still in use. I also cannot delete the locks.

This appears to be a glitch. Are you - or is anyone - aware of this? Am I the only one to experience this effect? Can you reproduce this effect?

I am anclosing screen shots. Only the first lock is real. The "real" lock is the one with the lowest "last active" time of the five locks. This may become confusing, because it creates the illusion of multiple (inactive) lockees. 

I'd love your feedback on this.

Yours,
zorkl
 


« Last Edit: May 17, 2019, 10:27:39 PM by zorkl »

*

Offline KevinCross

  • *****
  • 1348
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • ChastiKey.com
I don't know what the two screenshots are meant to be showing but the user id will reset if you reinstall the app on the same or new device. You can restore your original account if you wrote down or took a screen shot of the user id.

And is it this parental control setup you have going that's resetting the ID everytime you go into the app?
Developer of ChastiKey - The timed keyholder for your chastity device (Available on Google Play and App Store)

ChastiKey.com | Twitter | Facebook | Discord Chat | FetLife Fan Page*

Want to sign up for beta testing?: Android | iOS

*FetLife fan page is not managed by me.

Hi Kevin,

thanks for the reply. I am sorry, if the meaning of the screen shots was unclear. The screen shots show what is displayed when you click "manage". The entries CKU60496, CKU 6060697 and "pseudo" (x2) create the illusion of multiple "lockees". But these entries aren't "real". Only one is real, the one with the lowest "Last active" time.

Duplicates (from the management side) are created when I re-enable the app on the iPhone after having previously restricted access to it

Apparently user id and user name are reset, if you re-enable access to the app through iOS Screen Time after having previously forbidden access to it.

iOS screen time allows to set up one device as "parent" device and several other devices as "child" devices. After setup the "parent" can remotely disable app access by daytime, usage time or entirely. Also the content viewed on the device can be filtered. (Endless possibilites for play between consenting adults. A great way to promote healthy media use during chastity play.) If app access is disbabled because allowed usage time ran out a small hourglass is shown next to the icon and the app icon is greyed out. If the "parent" forbids access to the app permanently, the app icon vanishes. It reappears when the "parent" re-allows access be remote action.

This is not the first app that exhibited strange behaviour for me with this feature. You may know the intricacies of iOS better than me. If any app is disabled this way there is no trace of it. E. g. if I disable the camera this way other apps say "camera not found" instead of "access to camera denied". Maybe app data stored at certain places is erased when apps are disabled? Maybe some apps forget that they have previously existed on that device, because parts go missing?

Again, thanks This is probably a relatively rare effect. Most users will probably use downtime and daily app limits to restrict access to the app.